It’s tough having the responsibility of one’s own child’s education solely on one’s own shoulders.  There are just so many ways to blow it.  On the one hand, I want my kids to fall in love with learning: teach basic skills and let them take it from there.  On the other hand, I’ve been there, done that, and one kid became an expert on Disney tween sit-coms and learned snotty attitude and not much else.

Something in me just can’t let my son’s entire golden childhood be spent staring at Disney Channel.   The more worried I got, the less serene I was about the whole “do whatever you want with your time” thing.  My increasing dislike of the situation was affecting things around here.  I kept urging BALANCE and was politely ignored.

So we made some changes.  There is more balance and I hope that there is plenty of quality, appealing other stuff to do.

And yet…….

Encyclopedia took off with our history book a couple weeks ago.  I had to hunt it down in his room to use it.  Great, right?  Well, yes and no.  The book is neat, tells a great story with style, is above his usual reading level, and is 600 pages long.  What could be the problem?  The problem is that Encyclopedia devours the history book at the expense of everything else.  And now I have to decide whether this is OK.  Is it?  I honestly don’t know.  On the one hand, why not?  Why not let a kid lose himself in a terrific history book?  What a great benefit of homeschooling!  On the other hand, there is math, writing (both penmanship and usage), and a few other subjects that need some attention.  Plus, some fresh air outdoor and some exercise would be good, too.

How am I going to screw things up here?  By being too loose or by being too strict?  Like I said, it’s tough.  I have more that I would like to add regarding this, but I’ll save it for a future post.

