Today is the 9th birthday of my younger son, Cool Guy.  He has been up a great deal of the night in anticipation, though for what I can’t imagine.  He got his birthday present on Saturday, a new bike, with gears, handbrakes, big mountain bike wheels, a bell, and a flag.  He likes to accessorize everything.

One of my favorite things to do on Cool Guy’s birthday is to tell him his Birthday Story, so I thought I’d share it with you.

On Feb. 14, 2001, Burt and I went to Enid OK, where Cool Guy was to be born.  It was bitterly cold and very, very windy, as only the high prairie can be.  Early on Feb. 15, we went to the hospital, and waited.  Soon, we were summonded to the maternity ward, where the doctor met us with Cool Guy in his arms.  My, he was tiny, with eyes clamped shut, great big feet sticking out, and long, long arms.  I got to give him his first bath, and he really liked it.  Then we wrapped him up in swaddling clothes (just like Jesus!) and we went to our room and held him all day long.  Burt and I took turns all day.  We held him, we fed him, and we held him.

The next day, Feb. 16, it was freezing, freezing cold – so cold that it took your breath away.  We left the hospital after Cool Guy got an A-OK from the doctor, and we drove to Ponca City OK

 to stay with Miss Cynthia for a few days.  Cool Guy was such a strong baby that he started lifting his head when he was only one day old!

Now, this is Cool Guy’s favorite part.  While staying at Miss Cynthia’s that night, I changed Cool Guy’s diaper during the night, and I FORGOT about baby boys and cold air, and I forgot to put a diaper over him while changing, and he peed all over me.  Cool Guy laughs and laughs at this part.

On Sunday, when Cool Guy was 3 days old, he was baptized.  Uncle Richard and Aunt Debbie, and Ed and Andrea were the godparents.  Yes, two sets of godparents, and then we drove to our hometown, to stay with Grandma and Grandpa, and where Encyclopedia was staying, until we had permission to leave the state and go back to West Virginia.  Grandma had no crib at her house, so Cool Guy slept in a dresser drawer.  He likes that part too, that his first bed was a drawer.  Grandma took the stuff out of the drawer, lined it with blankets, and voila, a baby bed.

So happy birthday to Cool Guy!  It’s been quite a ride, and we’re halfway to 18, my oh my!  To celebrate, we’ll have Cool Guy’s favorite birthday meal of pancakes and stick sausages tonight, and we’re having chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter icing, nine of which will have a candle, and Ben and Jerry’s Reese’s Cup ice cream.

