After skiing last week, we got in a discussion on the way home about vacations.  Our discussions usually go like this: I ask a question, and Burt and the boys (being males) all shrug shoulders and give non-committal answers.  I then say, “if I held a gun to your head and you had to answer, what would you say.”  Then I might get some discussion, but often not.  This time I asked what kind of vacation person each was: a beach person, a ski person, or a cabin in the woods person.

To tell the truth, I’d say all three, but if someone held a gun to my head and told me that I had to choose only one for the rest of my life, I think I’d choose cabin in the woods.  Here’s why:

  1. Cabin in the woods is peaceful and beautiful.
  2. Cabin in the woods doesn’t require too much work.
  3. Cabin in the woods doesn’t have to cost an arm and a leg.
  4. Cabin in the woods can be enjoyed during 4 season, though differently.

This theoretical Cabin in the Woods is also on a quiet lake, with a canoe and a dock, a hammock strung between two trees, not too fancy and not too primative. 

Now, I love, love the beach.  But a Cabin in the Woods doesn’t have jellyfish.  I love skiing, but it is so much WORK: the lines, getting everyone fitted with boots and skis, getting the lift tickets, huffing and puffing to get to a lift, since I’m not near good enough to just ski on level ground.  So, with a gun to my head, I’d have to go with the Cabin in the Woods.  

Luckily, no gun.  I’d love to hear your top dream vacations. 

