#1

Yesterday, we had sunshine.  I didn’t realize how much I missed it until we had it!  The boys, too, were so much “sunnier” (yuck, yuck) yesterday.

#2

Signs of spring: mud, goldfinch getting gold again, and suddenly the days are just so much longer!

#3

Yesterday, Encyclopedia and I participated in another rite of spring: going to the garden center.  We got lots of sunflower and morning glory seeds for a sunflower house that we’re going to plant.  We decided on this project from many in Sharon Lovejoy’s Roots, Shoots, Buckets, and Boots.  And just for fun, we got a small Venus Flytrap and Pitcher Plant.  What is it in boy-wiring that draws them to the weird/grisly/macabre?

#4

For some reason, this Lent, I keep hearing “happy” or “joyous” preceding “Lent.”   As in “Have a happy Lent.”  What is up with that?  Is this new or am I just noticing this for the first time?  I get it, but I’ve just never heard it before.

#5

Last week, I was at a quilt retreat for a week, and this week, we took a week off school to clean and reorganize.  I think everyone is ready to get back on track now.

#6

For Lent (happy Lent!) I decided to do the 40 bags thing, where I gather things from around the house to either donate or toss, one bag per day during Lent.  This is set high on my daily priority list, and so far, I have not been challenged AT ALL to find stuff to fill up a bag each day.  Of course, I have been cleaning out the classroom, but still, we are well into the season, here.  We are lucky enough to have a library at our parish, so I was able to donate quite a few books there.  Goodwill got the rest of the stuff yesterday.

#7

Encyclopedia is WAY too interested in WW points.  Every time I’m about to taste something yummy, he asks me “How many points is that, mom?”  I mutter something like points not counting during basketball games or on Sundays.  Anyone want to borrow a boy to jump-start a diet? 

Thanks to Jennifer at Conversion Diary for hosting 7 Quick Takes!  I hope everyone has a great weekend!

